Books on my desk.

On my desk, there is a pile of books. That pile consists of:

  1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  2. The Success Principles for Teens by Jack Canfield and Kent Healy
  3. Year Million edited by Damien Broderick
  4. Seventeen Magazine August 2010

Let me explain to you my connection with each one of these books.

  1. To tell you the truth, I am hopelessly confused on my summer reading book, Treasure Island. (refer to Summer Reading post) In an attempt to try and make the reading more understandable, I bought the audiobook from one of my iTouch apps, hoping to listen to the story rather than read it. Well, that proved to be a rather unaffective idea. This is why. Sometimes I would play the audiobook while I was reading along inside Treasure Island, which gave my mind something to concentrate on. By both reading and listening, I was able to really understand what was happening. Other times though, I would close my eyes and listen to the audiobook, hoping to imagine what was happening in the story  inside my head. Not such a good idea. The first few minutes would be fine, and I would be following along with the narrator just dandy. But then, my mind would start to wander off unintentionally. Here are the internal thoughts I am having in my head as I try to listen to my summer reading, but utterly fail: OK, so Jim Hawkins is suspecting Israel Hands to attack him….right……uhuh…..hmmm…(mind starts wandering right now) I wonder what I’m going to have for breakfast tomorrow? Maybe some oatmeal? What do I feel like…Ohh, this bed is so comfy, I had such a long day….(realizes that I’m not listening to the book) Wait, the story!! So now Jim and Mr. Hands are fighting…..Just stare at the ceiling so you don’t fall asleep…….wait, what is Jim talking about? Something about a dirk? What’s a dirk?…….(dozing off) won’t fall asleep…won’t.. fall…(sound asleep)  Finally, twenty minutes later, I awaken, only to find out that the narrator is 4 chapters ahead from where I started, and I have lost my place in the book. Because of this, I have to reread the whole chapter again, to get what’s going on. It seems that I’m more for the old-fashioned reading than listening! Either that, or audiobooks are meant for when you’re washing the dishes or sitting in the car, not tucked in in your warm bed, a little sleepy, at 10 pm, in your pajamas. I really believe that Treasure Island is a great classic, but I just wish that I had been able to understand it better!
  2. “You can achieve anything if you put your mind into it.” Everyone’s familiar with those kinds of inspiring quotes and statements that make you want to work for something in life. Well, The Success Principles:For Teens (they also have one for adults) are all those quotes and more wrapped up into one big hunk of a package! Basically, the 2 authors lay out the 20 Success Principles needed to, well, become successful. Trust me, after you’re done reading this, you’ll feel like you can become and succeed anything. It’s like an adrenaline rush FOR YOUR MIND!(isn’t that awesome?) Kent Healy and Jack Canfield’s book shows you just how to “get from where you are to where you want to be.”
  3. Even though I’ve only gotten the chance to read part of the introduction for this book, it is already extremely thought-provoking. It predicts how humanity will be doing in a couple hundred years, and how we would have evolved. It’s hard to wrap your mind around the whole idea, though, but imagination can only take us so far. And apparently, we might even end up looking like “The Gray” alien. Weird, right?
  4. 4. Seventeen Magazines are one of my favorite magazines. (The same goes to millions of other teenage girls!) They give you fashion, beauty, celebrities, advice, and health tips. What more could a typical teenage girl ask for? Every week, they give you a really helpful section which provides workout and eating plans to help you get and stay fit. But this week, I hit the jack pot. Instead of the usual fold-out 1 week workout plan, they made a fun and different 6 week workout plan complete with eating tips and success stories from three inspiring girls! It was a bonus mag, I think is what they called it. What they do is that they give you 6 very distinct and varied workouts, one for each week, and also some cardio and “17 tips”. The success stories I mentioned earlier really motivates you to get into your best shape, too. Some of the workouts include yoga, dancing, and piloxing (a cross between pilates and boxing=piloxing) The true purpose of this though is to whip you into shape without getting boring and monotonous. It’s very rewarding when you’ve finished!


Leave a Reply

